87 days and counting

Every day that I get closer to August 8th, the more excited that I get.

There are about 2000 people that are currently hiking the PCT.  They have left from Campo CA and heading towards Manning Park BC.  I am following several of these hikers on Facebook and Instagram and I’m vicariously living thru them.  The more that I read about their experiences and see their pictures, the more intoxicated that I feel!  Its going to be a journey, unlike any other.

I finally have all of my gear and I’m practically ready to go!  I will be weighing my pack this week and hoping that my base weight is no heavier then 13 pounds.  (Base weight is everything you’re carrying, minus food, fuel, and water) It may sound like a lot, but I’m not a super ultra light backpacker.  I’ll get lighter when I hike the entire Appalachian Trail in 2017.

I started purchasing food that I will be eating along the way, things like snickers bars, mint M&Ms, Ramen, crackers and peanut butter and Crystal light.  I will start testing different dehydrated, homemade meals in the next 2 weeks and getting my menu straight.  My resupply boxes are very very slowly, getting things in them.  And by the beginning of July, my resupply points will be set in stone.  Currently I have 6 stops and I’m going to add a 7th, maybe 8th.  Logistically, I have a couple things to look at .

As I say everyday at work…IS IT AUGUST YET!?!?!?!?!?!?

is_it_august_yet_shirt

One thought on “87 days and counting

Leave a Reply

